Leanna Taylor, Executive Director img_0727


Leanna Taylor is responsible for the vision, strategy, marketing and fundraising efforts for Friends of Animal Care & Control as it works to reduce euthanasia in Valley shelters by supporting pet owners in need.

 “Saving lives by focusing on proactive, data driven programs is my passion. Solving pet homelessness through compassionate care of the entire family, including pets – and most importantly, without judgment – is more rewarding than I could have imagined in my wildest dreams.”

Leanna took on the role of Executive Director in 2013 after a long and storied career in sports, with a specific focus on increasing revenues and streamlining operations. In her spare time, Leanna spends time with her family, including her son Kieren, their 2 birds (Delta & Hercules), 2 dogs (Pippen & Bandit), and foster dog du jour.


Michele Soto, Community Engagement Coordinator af1b6841


Michele Soto is responsible for community engagement, event planning and volunteer coordination, along with day to day operations for Friends of Animal Care & Control.

“Working directly with people and pets is my passion. To work with people in trying their hardest to solve pet homelessness is not only rewarding, but an honor.”

After working in animal welfare for 8 years with both the Arizona Humane Society and AAWL, Michele transitioned to human services with the Sojourner Center, before returning to her passion by taking on the role of Administrative Coordinator for Friends, in 2014. In her spare time, Michele spends time reading and spending time with her family and pets, including her three cats (Henry, Edgar, Tyrion), and dog (Walt).




 Board of Directors


Photo courtesy of Bruce Haseley Photography Brucehaseleyphotography.com

  • Michela Belluso, Member
  • Alanna Brook, Member
  • Cindy Gandara, Secretary
  • Rashell Cooper, Member
  • Annie DeGraw, Vice-Chair
  • Bruce Haseley, Member
  • Mark Hilliard, Member
  • Heather Iorillo, Treasurer
  • Nikki O’Shea, Member
  • David Patterson, Member
  • Kristofer Royer, Member
  • Karin Royle, Member
  • Heather Sheston, Member
  • Lori VanOteghem, Member
  • Chris Wahl, Member
  • Jana Wilcke, Member
  • Steve Zeidman, Chairman of the Board